Commence OSB Freakout!

Just kidding, it’s already been happening for the past couple of weeks.  And OSB, I mean Ohio Star Ball, one of the biggest ballroom competitions/galas/shindigs/extravaganzas in the United States.  Very technically, I am competing this weekend in the US National Collegiate Dancesport Championships, one of the few collegiate-only comps, that happens to share a space with the Ohio Star Ball, which has amateur, pro-am, and professional competitors.

Anyway, it’s a big to-do, and also my regular partner’s and my first and only competition this academic year.  And we’re doing champ smooth for the first time (admittedly, by ourselves, but that’s a different sort of scary.) Pressure’s on, but I’m also trying to remind myself to just have fun.  And to try and survive quickstep.  Oh yeah, and I am also leading bronze and silver Latin for the first time, which is another source of excitement and terror. Will I spontaneously fall back into the follower’s version of the jive basic or do what I’m actually supposed to do as a lead? Will I blank out and do ten thousand New Yorkers on default mode? We shall see.  I forgot how boring bronze is, with the limited number of things you can do.  But I guess that will be working in my favor.  Also, it’s been a while since I’ve had to be a part of an event that has like 6+ heats. Oy.

Also, this year, PBS is filming the pro events as part of America’s Ballroom Challenge again! Exciting stuff, as this was cancelled a few years back.  Maybe it’ll lure the world champions out to OSB? Fingers crossed.  I’m also looking forward to checking out all the sparkly stuff, since a bazillion vendors come to prey on our vanity and love of shiny things (well, and to make a living, of course).

Here are a few awesome showdances from years past for your enjoyment. Sorry if they’re repeats.  Also, holy low resolution!

One thought on “Commence OSB Freakout!

Leave a Reply

