New Dress!

I ordered a new standard/smooth dress (more for smooth) a little over a month ago and it finally arrived! It fits great.  Almost…other than the crotch area being both extra roomy and extra-high-cut (awkward) and the dress being an entire two and a half inches too long in length.  My partner and I took it for a test run and managed okay, but the length is a little too risky for comfort, particularly for smooth, so I’m looking into fixing that.

In the meantime, these will serve as “before” pictures of the plain dress.  I ordered it unstoned because I don’t like plastic-y Korean stones and I could probably do a nicer job for cheaper if I stone it myself with Swarovski and Preciosa crystals.

IMG_3997

The front!

IMG_3999

The back! Kind of looks exactly like the front…it’s a bit more asymmetrical.

I plan to stone the lacy flower bits in a mixture of heliotrope and volcano Swarovskis (basically, purple, plus this cool color-changing stone that shifts from orange to pink to purple), and then scatter fuchsia Preciosas on the rest of the bodice.  Maybe later put some larger sew-on crystal shapes on the bust area, mixed with fuchsia ABs or something. Soon the cost of the stones will be equal to the cost of the dress… Anyway, I’ll post updates when this stoning actually happens.  Should be fun! And incredibly time-consuming, involving gluing over 4000 stones individually by hand.

Leave a Reply

