Stoning Party

So I’ve been super busy since the semester started, and unfortunately haven’t had much time to post anything. This is not a particularly interesting post, so sorry about that. I’ve been doing lots of stoning recently! By that, I mean gluing shiny things on things. One reason for that is that the girl who rented my Latin dress dry-cleaned it, so it’s cleaner, which is great, but the dry cleaning solvents affected the glue somehow and some of the stones have been coming loose :/ .

On a more positive note, I finally got some dress floats made for my standard/smooth dress.  It had floats originally, but I lost one of them at the Manhattan Amateur Classic a couple years ago, because sometimes I’m dumb like that.  The floats aren’t 100% what I had in mind, particularly with how the armbands were sewn, but they’ll function fine, I think.  Importantly, they needed some bling, so I took care of that.

Pictures below:

Image

Image

Yes, that is just random stuff I stretched the bands over, so that they’d stay stretched out while I worked. If you stone stretchy fabrics while they’re not taut, then the stones might pop off when you stretch the fabric to put them on.  So I hear.

5-second stoning tutorial: For my method, I use Gem-tac glue, make dots wherever I want them to go, let them dry for a few minutes so they get tacky, then use this rhinestone picker-upper tool with some kind of wax on the end to pick up stones and stick them on.  A little glue should spill out from underneath, once you press the stone down, so it forms a little rim and secures the stone better.  Let dry, and voila!  I found that this fabric soaks up the glue quite a bit, so I used more glue than what I’m used to.

I ordered a new unstoned standard/smooth dress recently, which is due to arrive any week now (that sounds like it’s a baby, ha).  I plan to get a bunch of nice stones for it, so the before and after pictures of that project will soon follow! And be more exciting! Potentially.

One thought on “Stoning Party

  1. Pingback: End-of-the-Year Thoughts | Ballroom On My Mind

Leave a Reply

