Standard’s Pretty Different, Too!

Standard’s changed quite a bit over the last few decades as well.

My partner and I finally finished up our open standard tango routine (woot, all done with learning our standard routines now!) , so I figured I’d post this vintage take on it. The poofy short dresses are pretty amazing. I think it’s interesting how the frame is smaller and shapes are more upright/natural looking than today’s hyperstylized, athletic shaping. But the top dancers of today also seem more technical and precise, at least as far as I can tell.

Here’s a more recent showdance from the Hiltons 15 years ago- more modern but still pretty different from today. Also, boa-feather skirt!

Leave a Reply

