Introduction

Hi, my name is Elise, and I am a ballroom dancer.

I’ve been ballroom dancing for about 8 years, competing seriously for about 4 or 5, and am currently dancing novice/pre-champ standard and smooth.  (I’d do gold Latin if I had a partner in it, but alas, that’s taken a hiatus for now.)

I love dancing!  I got started by doing some swing dance casually in high school (and a bit of jazz/hip hop, but trust me, that went absolutely nowhere).  I then got hooked on ballroom and dancesport in college, even serving as president of my undergrad school club.  From then on, there was no turning back.  As a grad student in a psychology PhD program, it’s pretty much the one hobby I afford to have right now (well, when it comes to time, anyway. Still not entirely sure I can afford it money-wise, heh).  I started this blog as an outlet for anything and everything ballroom (or tangentially ballroom) related and hopefully to share what I have learned from my experience in dancing and competing.  I hope to throw in some social psychology-ballroom connections, which are entirely nonscientific but might offer an interesting viewpoint.  I’d also like to use it to share other online resources that I have found to be helpful. 

So, as a disclaimer, I wouldn’t make any claims about being an expert, but I’ve been around the block and am very familiar with the collegiate and amateur competitive scene on the East Coast and now the Midwest.  Hopefully you’ll get something out of this!  Please feel free to comment or message me.

One thought on “Introduction

Leave a Reply

